Tag Archives: #NewJersey

Could My Social Media Accounts Affect My Personal Injury Case?

Most people have made mistakes on social media at some point or another. Perhaps they posted an embarrassing photo or unintentionally shared something private. These mistakes sometimes cost you friends or may hurt your professional reputation. However, if you are involved in a personal injury case, these social media mistakes could cost you much more. How Do Social Media Mistakes Affect My Personal Injury Lawsuit? What you share or what others share about you could affect your ability to recover compensation for a personal injury. Attorneys working for the defense and insurance adjusters have every reason to discredit your injury claim. They may try to use your social media posts in an attempt to hurt the validity of your case. If you want to avoid making social media mistakes that could hurt your case, then you should consider utilizing the following tips. Consider leaving social media: You should consider dropping…
Read More »

Posted in Personal Injury | Tagged , | Leave a comment

When are New Jersey Businesses Liable for Drunk Driving Accidents?

Drunk drivers kill an average of 10,000 or more people in the US each year. Some of these fatal car accidents occur because businesses overserve patrons who are already intoxicated. Like many other states, New Jersey has what are called “dram shop laws.” These are laws that can make a business liable for continuing to serve patrons who are intoxicated. New Jersey businesses may be liable for drunk driving accidents if: The individual who was served alcohol was visibly intoxicated. The business knew or should have known the person they were serving alcohol was under 21 years old. We recently obtained an $875,000 settlement against a New Jersey business in a classic dram shop case. In this instance, we conducted a thorough investigation to determine the drunk driver’s impairment before he injured our client. You can read more about this case by continuing to explore our website. What About Social…
Read More »

Posted in Car Accident | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Could a New Law Help New Jersey Survivors of Child Abuse Sue Their Abusers?

Survivors of child abuse in New Jersey now have more time to file claims against their abusers. This year, S477 will go into effect. This law extends the statute of limitations in civil actions for sexual abuse claims. This law came after a shocking report exposed more than 100 New Jersey priests who were accused of sex abuse in the state. New Jersey is the 11th state to pass this type of statute of limitations bill. How will this new law protect child abuse survivors? How long do abuse survivors now have to file a lawsuit? How can you file a child sex abuse lawsuit in New Jersey? What Is a Statute of Limitations? A statute of limitations is the amount of time a person has to file a lawsuit against a negligent or abusive party. In civil claims, the amount of time an abuse survivor has to file a…
Read More »

Posted in Injuries to Children | Tagged | Leave a comment